Lake Carl Blackwell — Reviews

  • Rated3.0out of 5

    The mini splits in Pete’s cabin worked great! Cabin was surface clean but not deeply. Rust stove. Sketchy shower with no light and rusty drain. Most cabins TVs not working on my weekend stay but that was ok. My biggest issue was the price for what we got. If this was a $100-125 a night, most issues I mentioned would be understandable. I have rented cabin on the water for less and much nicer. The cabin served its purpose.

    T.R. · July 2026

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    3out of 5
    Restrooms
    2out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    1out of 5
  • Rated1.0out of 5

    This used to be our go-to campground for a quick weekend getaway, but unfortunately it’s gone downhill. The rising costs, the elimination of camping credits, and the added “lock site” fee (or they may move you if you don’t pay it) have really taken away from the experience. The biggest issue, though, is the condition of the campsites. Many of them aren’t maintained well, and it’s incredibly difficult to level a camper. Some sites have three different elevations—it practically takes an engineering degree to get everything level. We have a lot of great memories here, but with the higher prices and declining quality, it’s becoming hard to justify coming back.

    kevin k. · July 2026

    Site
    2out of 5
    Location
    4out of 5
    Amenities
    2out of 5
    Staff
    1out of 5
    Cellular
    2out of 5
    Value
    2out of 5

    Response from Lake Carl Blackwell · August 2026

    We'd like to address a few concerns. Our nightly camping rates have not increased, camp credits are still available, and the Lock Site fee is entirely optional. We're also sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your campsite. If a site doesn't meet expectations, we encourage guests to visit the office as we'll always do our best to accommodate a move when possible. We hope you'll visit again and make more happy memories at the lake.

  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    Remote control for AC unit was very difficult to find and set at 55 degrees; we FROZE the first night and thankfully found it the second day there. Also, the shower drain was a little scary; almost like a manhole cover. Otherwise, I enjoyed the cabin and the kitchenette was nice. All the linens were very nice as well.

    Marcia D. · July 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    4out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated2.0out of 5

    Bathrooms at the dump station are not clean and in disrepair. Don't know who monitors the cleaning and up keep but they aren't keeping up with their responsibilities.

    Chris H. · June 2026

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    3out of 5
    Restrooms
    1out of 5
    Amenities
    4out of 5
    Staff
    1out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    4out of 5
    Value
    3out of 5

    Response from Lake Carl Blackwell · June 2026

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that the Trailhead Restroom at the dump station did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance team checks these facilities twice daily, but issues can sometimes arise between inspections. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as it helps us improve the experience for all of our guests. Thank you for visiting Lake Carl Blackwell.

  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    Gnat infested! So many gnats, other than that really good 👍

    B.R. · June 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    1out of 5
    Amenities
    3out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    4out of 5
  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    The campsite was very clean and quiet. My only complaint is that I wish the campsite were a bit more level for the travel trailer.

    Jeremiah F. · June 2026

    Site
    3out of 5
    Location
    4out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated3.0out of 5

    The bathroom with the shower need a good cleaning. Mold under the handle. Some of the dumpsters are rotted thru, Our picnic area was filthy upon arrival. Needs some TLC.

    K.M. · June 2026

    Site
    3out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    1out of 5
    Staff
    2out of 5
    Value
    4out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    C.C. · May 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    We always love staying at LCB. The campsites are well maintained and always clean. One of the best things is the store and the guys that run it. Always making improvements and adding things.

    Chasity Fipps · May 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    The grounds were beautifully maintained. Excellent access.

    John C. · May 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    4out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated2.0out of 5

    The spot had no trees, and even though there were empty spots we were not allowed to switch. The shower/bathroom had no hand soap the whole time we were there, even tho a worker came in and said, “They still haven’t filled these, oh that’s ok, I have some in my truck.” Went and got some for herself. I saw her at the bathroom three more times over the days we were there, and still no soap. Why didn’t she just fill it? Water in men’s showers was lukewarm at best. The water was murky and red, understandable, but not pleasant. I used to love this place , but the sites are on top of each other and just not up to other campgrounds. Will choose the other one in town next time. Nicer secluded sights, better reviews.

    J.H. · May 2026

    Site
    2out of 5
    Location
    3out of 5
    Restrooms
    1out of 5
    Staff
    2out of 5
    Value
    2out of 5

    Response from Lake Carl Blackwell · May 2026

    Our goal is to provide guests with a positive experience-we encourage anyone with concerns to contact the Park Office for assistance. We acknowledge that the soap dispensers were lacking and appreciate you bringing this to our attention! Lake conditions are out of our control unfortunately. We pride ourselves on the generous layout of sites, so your mention was a little puzzling. We appreciate your past visits to Lake Carl Blackwell and are sorry to hear this experience left you disappointed.

  • Rated1.0out of 5

    Rain was forecast for the entire weekend, so we didn't go. It was too late to receive a refund.

    P.H. · May 2026

    Value
    1out of 5

    Response from Lake Carl Blackwell · May 2026

    P. H. Thank you for your feedback although it's unfortunately, negative. We understand weather can affect travel plans. Per our clearly stated CampSpot reservation policy, refund requests must be made within the cancellation window to qualify for a camp credit. For future stays, guests may also select Weather Guarantee protection at booking for added flexibility with weather-related cancellations. We appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back to OSU Lake Carl Blackwell.

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    Jonathan M. · May 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    Jordan M. · March 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    T.B. · March 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    4out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    Heather W. · March 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    Eric R. · March 2026

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Friendly staff and great camp ground

    Tim C. · February 2026

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    4out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Nice clean, and quiet

    L.R. · December 2025

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Beautiful park, beautiful lake, staff is always friendly and accommodating.

    Carrie J. · November 2025

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    3out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5