Covered Wagon RV Park — Reviews

  • Rated1.0out of 5

    Screw this place! No office presence upon arrival and had to call a number to get my site number. 3 minutes later, I realized my site was occupied, I called back and never got an answer. I called for the rest of the day from my phone and my partners phone with no avail, so, we set up in another site. Halfway through the week, a new manager showed up to tell us we were going to have to move to our original site, once it was vacated. I tried to explain how much work it was to move and offered other solutions many times, but he was adamant on making us move 40 feet so that it was "right on paper". He had no problem bitching about other visitors to me from our first conversation. The entire situation gave me extreme anxiety. Ultimately, each person who pushed back didn't have to move. The squeaky wheel got greased. So, if you choose to stay here and there's a problem, apparently you can just give management hell and get what you want. While there are plenty of warnings in previous reviews about the interstate noise, the homeless population, and the neighborhood, my biggest problem was the park's mis-management. The pool and restrooms were also closed. And when we were departing, the sewer lines backed up and overflowed into the grass. We had to dump our tanks elsewhere. Additionally, somehow, even though we left a day early, I still got charged extra money when my reservation was updated from 8 days to 7. There is nothing that they could have done within their business plan to receive a 5 star review from me. I had a truly awful experience here.

    Shauna B. · April 2024

    Site
    1out of 5
    Location
    1out of 5
    Restrooms
    1out of 5
    Amenities
    1out of 5
    Staff
    1out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    1out of 5
  • Rated3.0out of 5

    The park is clean and maintained in excellent condition. The permanent residents are friendly, even the guy next to us with the “f*** trump” bumper sticker prominently displayed on his truck bumper was cordial. Sites are narrow, level and just short enough that our tow vehicle extended in the street. It’s the neighborhood that the park is located in that’s their problem. A lot of homeless and naferious folks right outside the cinder block wall surrounding the park. There was a random delapitaited trailer hooked to a rather nice pick up truck that would park right inside the park’s entrance. I was told by another temporary guest that he was a local “squatter” that would occasionally pull into a vacant spot. I do believe it was the 5 rounds of small arms fire that determined we would not come back here again. It was right on the other side of the wall which was only about 50 yards from our coach. Our neighbors to the left of us, who weren’t supposed to leave for another 4 days left first thing the next morning. It was expensive to stay in this park and now I realize why they were the only park in town with vacancy. However, they have a strict no refund policy, but don’t you think “fearing for your life” should be a good refund reason? We stayed our 3 days. The park cannot help the neighborhood they are in, and I give the permanent residents and onsite management staff credit for staying. One last thing ~ get a phone number that is in service. Don’t bother trying to call the number listed, it’s disconnected.

    Judy P. · March 2024

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    1out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    1out of 5
  • Rated1.0out of 5

    There was no host at the camp ground. It was exspensive. I reserved the spot due to it having showers and bathrooms and days before I was going to arrive I got a email saying the bathroom and showers don’t work…. But if I cancelled my reservation I wouldn’t get a refund… if your going to send me a email of few days before my reservation I should have the option to get a refund and stay some place else

    Corey D. · March 2024

    Site
    1out of 5
    Location
    1out of 5
    Restrooms
    1out of 5
    Amenities
    1out of 5
    Staff
    1out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    1out of 5
  • Rated2.0out of 5

    Being located near the freeway was very noisy at night. A lot of cat poop throughout the site.

    F.C. · March 2024

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    2out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    4out of 5
    Value
    3out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Angie the camp host is an angel! She helped me get the 5th wheel settled when. I got there because it had rained and there were deep puddles of water, she had boots I did not. When we were trying to leave the fifth wheel hitch got binded and we had to stay another night. There were people that were waiting for our spot but she found another spot for them

    David V. · February 2024

    Site
    2out of 5
    Location
    3out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · February 2024

    Thanks for the kind words! You guys were great guests too!

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    Robert B. · February 2024

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated1.0out of 5

    We paid for several days, but our site was surrounded by RVs whose pads were cluttered, there was apparently (it seemed) only one person working in the office, no gate at entrance and office location was not well identified, buildings just outside the entrance were full of graffiti. We needed to leave early, and when we went to the office door to let them know we were leaving early., no one responded. Previous phone calls only allowed leaving messages.

    P.E. · January 2024

    Site
    2out of 5
    Location
    4out of 5
    Staff
    1out of 5
    Value
    1out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    We really hate that you didn't have a good experience while visiting our park but thank you for the valuable feedback about some things that can be improved. I would welcome a conversation about this further if possible... thank you 602/242-2500

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    For a one night stay at a spur of the moment decision and being the only place close to downtown Phoenix. We’re very grateful this place had an overflow spot available with full hookups. The lady that got us checkin was very friendly and helpful. Lots of kitties there too.

    B.R. · December 2023

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · February 2024

    We are glad you chose us in your spur of the moment! Kitties all need homes!

  • Rated1.0out of 5

    I didn’t stay. Traveling alone, didn’t feel comfortable or safe being assigned a site on the outside perimeter of the park with a public street just outside the fence. In what appears to be a depressed neighborhood.

    M.W. · November 2023

    Site
    1out of 5
    Location
    1out of 5
    Staff
    1out of 5
    Value
    1out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    We are so sorry that you didn't feel comfortable, we know it's not the best neighborhood but we make sure everyone is always safe inside the park!

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Rated without a written review.

    G.H. · November 2023

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    4out of 5
    Amenities
    4out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5
  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    very nice, clean rv park. Friendly helpful Angie. great space. Good stay!

    R.P. · October 2023

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    Thank you so much for the kind words! Come see us again!

  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    Laundry room broken. Dryers not working.

    Tom L. · March 2023

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    1out of 5
    Restrooms
    3out of 5
    Amenities
    3out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    3out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    We are so sorry the dryers weren't working while you were here, they have all been replaced and we'd love to have you give us another try...

  • Rated2.0out of 5

    Cramped sites. Homeless encampment right at entry gate

    J.A. · March 2023

    Site
    1out of 5
    Location
    1out of 5
    Staff
    3out of 5
    Cellular
    3out of 5
    WiFi
    4out of 5
    Value
    2out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    We are sorry you didn't have a good experience while here at the park. We did get a great resolution to the homeless encampment - It's all cleared and cleaned and posted now!

  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    Rated without a written review.

    Jean L. · February 2023

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    3out of 5
    Staff
    4out of 5
    Cellular
    4out of 5
    WiFi
    4out of 5
    Value
    3out of 5
  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    If it says it is RV overflow, it means you will be squeezed in and will not have room to set up camp. But the kind manager accommodated us best she could. The shower area was very very clean.

    lisa w. · February 2023

    Site
    2out of 5
    Location
    4out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    2out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    We are sorry that we couldn't accommodate you in one of our actual spaces, but we are grateful to have the overflow spaces instead of having to turn folks down. Come on back and we will try to do better!

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Covered Wagon RV Park is an oasis in the middle of desert.

    Robert Botkins · February 2023

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    5out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    Thank you so much for the huge compliment!

  • Rated2.0out of 5

    Half (2) of showers didn’t drain, they said plumbers couldn’t fix it so far. Dryers in laundry were worthless. It served our purpose location-wise. We didn’t need amenities.

    K.G. · January 2023

    Site
    3out of 5
    Location
    3out of 5
    Restrooms
    2out of 5
    Staff
    3out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    WiFi
    5out of 5
    Value
    3out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    We hate to disappoint guests with amenities being unavailable or in need of repair, but it is an older park and on rare occasion things go wrong - thankfully you didn't need them this trip!

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    Everything was perfect

    BILL G. · January 2023

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    Thank you for a perfect review!

  • Rated5.0out of 5Fantastic!

    It is a very nice small camping site. It is kinda hard to find. Thanks for Google. Person in office was very friendly and helpful.

    Carolyn S. · January 2023

    Site
    5out of 5
    Location
    2out of 5
    Restrooms
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    4out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    4out of 5
    Value
    4out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    Thank you for the kind words, they are appreciated so much!

  • Rated4.0out of 5Great!

    Love that it is family owned. Easy to get information from the host. Highway was a little loud but with the AC slept through it.

    W.G. · December 2022

    Site
    4out of 5
    Location
    5out of 5
    Amenities
    5out of 5
    Staff
    5out of 5
    Cellular
    5out of 5
    Value
    4out of 5

    Response from Covered Wagon RV Park · January 2024

    Thank you so much for the good review and thank goodness for the A/C (in more ways than one!)